The Captain-Mal-from-Firefly Diet ⭐️ 🤠

13 months ago I stopped mindlessly eating chocolate by making a choice

Pete Lead
8 min readMar 1, 2020

In 2018 I was working full-time and taking MBA classes on nights and weekends. I put on about 4.5kg (~10lbs) by stress-eating, habitual snacking, and not really exercising.

When “up and to the right” is not the trend you want to see

I also changed jobs in 2018, and started using Zoom videoconferencing daily for remote communication. When you’re the first person in the meeting you get to see a big close-up of your face, and so I got a lovely view of my face at least once a week. My chin(s) 🙀!

2019 rolled around, I was still working and studying, and I didn’t want to let my weight and health get even more out of hand.

So I took a leaf out of the book of Malcolm Reynolds, browncoat, gold-hearted scrappy mercenary, and captain of the Firefly-class spaceship Serenity.

Captain Mal and the rag-tag Serenity crew, from the TV series Firefly

Mal sees the world in black and white

Although he’ll happily break the law, there are certain codes and values that Mal abides by no matter what. Take this exchange in the episode The Train Job. Mal learns that the medicine he just heisted is…

--

--

Pete Lead

I work with startups, teach entrepreneurship, and freelance in improv and leadership coaching.